The gift of the rings represents the first five books of the Old Testament, known as the Torah or the Pentateuch.

They are also known as the books of the law because they contain the laws and instruction given by the Lord through Moses to the people of Israel. These books were written by Moses, except for the last portion of Deuteronomy because it tells of the death of Moses. These five books lay the foundation for the coming of Christ in that here God chooses and brings into being the nation of Israel. As God’s chosen people, Israel became the custodians of the Old Testament, the recipients of the covenants of promise, and the channel of Messiah.

Genesis – means ‘beginning’. The book tells of the beginning of many things: the universe, man, sin, promise of Saviour, etc.

Exodus – means ‘a going out’ because it tells of Israel going out of Egypt.

Leviticus – means ‘relating to the Levites’. The book is so called because it records many laws which applied to the Levites, the tribe named after Levi, the priestly tribe.

Numbers – The book is called Numbers because it ‘relates the numbers of people included in the tribes of Israel’.

Deuteronomy – means ‘second law’. It is so called since Moses in this book states the law of God a second time.