Briefly, the Bible is a library rather than a single book.  It is made up of 66 books written by various people over a period of around 1500 years.  Some books are collections of traditions or sayings that may go back even further.  There are history books, poetry books, songs, stories, proverbs, prophecies and letters.  What unites them all is that they are permeated with the living breath of God such that they can speak directly to you and your immediate situation as well as simply inform and even entertain.

There are two main sections to the Bible:  The Old and New Testaments.  The Old Testament is the first 39 books, written and telling of events before Jesus.  It is the same as the Jewish Holy Scripture, although the books are in a slightly different order.  The New Testament is 27 books telling of the life of Jesus and the first 40 or so years of the early church in Jerusalem and spreading around the Mediterranean rim into Europe, especially through the ministries of St Peter and St Paul.